Does your car have a “flat tank” like Golf 3?

Posted: October 21, 2016 in Maintenance tips
Tags: , , , , , ,

There are some car fuel tanks that do not have reservoirs. Such cars will stall, or shut down in motion or stationary along a hilly road. This happens when the electric fuel pump in the tank is starved of fuel due to low fuel in tank(reserve or below reserve level).

Volkswagen Golf 3,and Kia Shuma are examples of cars that have “flat” tanks(that is,
Most people (even mechanics) do not knowy how to solve this problem,even with lowest(reserve) fuel level in your tank. They suggest (and rightly so) that you should refuel before your fuel guage reads “reserve”. But what if you forgot to refuel, try to go a trip to raise money to refuel (commercial drivers are culprits here), or you miscalculated your mileage, WHAT CAN YOU DO?

The solution I am sharing with you is what I discovered when I first bought my Kia Shuma, after selling my older 1992 Toyota Corolla. I noticed the first time my fuel went to reserve level and I was driving on a slanted East-West Road, in Port Harcourt, my vehicle stalled but I drove to the kerb (which is somewhat level ground) and the car ran smoothly only to go off before I could get to the nearest gas station.

I noticed it serverally (my bad) then I put on my technical thinking cap. I wondered why this is so and my neighbour that uses a Golf 3 narrated his ordeal about the same problem.

I opened my tank one day just to check if it is dirty and as I removed the car seat, pump cover, fuel pump cable and casing, I checked the tank but it was relatively clean. I thought maybe the fuel pump is failing.

I looked at the fuel pump casing (housing the fuel pump) and EUREKA! I noticed that my tank is flat and the outlet hose from the pump, through the casing was long while the return was short (emptying into tank via casing). THE SOLUTION IS AS FOLLOWS:
What I needed (USE A CAR TECHNICIAN/”MECHANIC”):
Screwdriver, plier, hose clip and hose.
1. I cut a fuel hose I have in my tools bag (as long as the one from the fuel outlet(sucking fuel out of tank)

Golf 3 fuel casing (housing the fuel pump)

Golf 3 fuel casing (housing the fuel pump)

2. I connected the fuel hose I found in my tools bag, using a plier, to the return pipe and tighed it with a clip.

Diagram of top of Golf 3 fuel pump casing - note the direction of arrows on pipe. Diagram Credit: http://workshop-manuals.com/volkswagen/golf-mk3/power_unit/4-cyl._injection_engine_(cross-flow_cylinder_head)_mechanics/fuel_supply_gas_operation/removing_and_installing_parts_of_fuel_supply_system/removing_and_installing_fuel_delivery_unit/

Diagram of top of Golf 3 fuel pump casing – note the direction of arrows on pipe

3. MOST IMPORTANTLY: PLACED THE LONG RETURN HOSE DIRECTED ON TOP THE FILTER OF THE FUEL PUMP. The idea is that if you are low on petrol(at or below reserve level), while the pump supplies fuel to your engine, and your vehicle (owing to gradient or hill) slants, the little fuel in your tank moves out of the reach of your fuel pump (even any return from unused fuel coming from your engine empties into tank and moves away from the reach of your pump) but with this “construction”, while you are on a hill and fuel moves out of reach of your pump to keep you moving smoothly, THE RETURN NOW EMPTYING DIRECTLY INTO THE FUEL FILTER ATTACHED TO THE PUMP WILL KEEP YOU MOVING PENDING (AND YOU HAVE TO DRIVE TOWARDS A FAILY LEVEL PARTS OF THE ROAD WHEN YOUR CAR BEGINS TO STALL IN A VERY LOW LEVEL.

NOTE: THIS IS TO BUY YOU TIME TO REFUEL. IF YOU STARVE YOUR VEHICLE OF PETROL BECAUSE OF THIS INFORMATION, YOUR CAR ENGINE CAN PARK UP. naijadriva.wordpress.com WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY LOSS, DAMAGE OR ADVERSE EFFECTS YOU MAY CAUSE TO YOUR CAR DUE TO ABUSE OF THIS KNOWLEDGE.

Leave a Reply

